The rainbow invitation to rest

It wasn’t news I wanted to hear. But there wasn’t anything I could do to change it.

I walked back to my desk. Overwhelmed. The waters rising, threatening to close in over my head. Sinking.

Too much. Too much.

Struggling, trying to float instead of sink. Except that struggling usually sends you downward. Floating requires trust that the water will hold you up.

I didn’t see it at first. Someone else drew it to my attention.

A rainbow – bright and glorious against a charcoal sky. It hung in the air outside my window.

Light in the darkness

Suddenly the waters receded, the darkness lifted and hope took its rightful place.

I love rainbows.

I love the colours; love their glorious beauty; love their elusiveness and the unexpected joy they bring.

I love that they remind me of God’s presence.

They speak to me of his faithfulness. They remind me that God is someone I can trust. Even in the storms of life.

Especially in the storms.

I’ve seen several rainbows in the last few days. A profusion of rainbow gifts, reminding me again of the Lord’s faithfulness as I choose to trust him and rest.

Rainbow at rest

Return to your rest, my soul, for the LORD has been good to you. ~ Psalm 116:7

6 thoughts on “The rainbow invitation to rest

  1. Lovely! And it’s so true, floating requires trust. Sometimes it can be hard to remember to just float, and rest peacefully, when life starts to feel like a struggle. This year I’ve been setting aside time for reflection and appreciation, too. 🙂

    Like

      1. Setting aside time for myself has helped me to better appreciate time spent with family and friends, including blogging friends. When I take time to rest I don’t feel as rushed, which goes a long way toward simply being present in the moment and peacefully enjoying my interactions with others, rather than being distracted by to-do lists and general mental clutter.

        Like

  2. I noticed that both rainbows have a secondary outer rainbow – not as obvoius in your second rural scene as in the first city pic where you can see that the colours are in reverse order on the outer one. I went to Wikipedia to investigate how the second bow is formed and found myself amused by the incongruity between the style and nature of the personal reflections above and the stark factual description I found on the Wiki:

    “A rainbow is an optical and meteorological phenomenon that is caused by both reflection and refraction of light in water droplets resulting in a spectrum of light appearing in the sky. It takes the form of a multicoloured arc.”
    also:
    “In a double rainbow, a second arc is seen outside the primary arc, and has the order of its colours reversed, red facing toward the other one, in both rainbows. This second rainbow is caused by light reflecting twice inside water droplets.”
    and:
    “..it is impossible for an observer to see a rainbow from water droplets at any angle other than the customary one of 42 degrees from the direction opposite the light source.”

    God’s creation is indeed wonder-inspiring, and the very limited level of physics and mathematics that I am able to grasp, provide a taste of a different kind of beauty too ..

    Like

    1. Yes, I read that wiki too. Until then I hadn’t realised that the second bow colours are reversed. I was also fascinated by all the other rainbow variations. I agree, the sciences are definitely not my strong point, but do “provide a taste of a different kind of beauty.”

      Like

Share your thoughts

